jump to navigation

Trashing Pro Tools Preferences and Databases February 16, 2011

Posted by ConnorSmith in : Avid, Pro Tools, Troubleshooting , trackback

This is the first line of Pro Tools troubleshooting: how to trash your preferences and databases.

Most of the time, if you are experiencing a “it used to work and all of a sudden it doesn’t!” situation with Pro Tools, this is the fix.  These files are a reference for Pro Tools to see your most recent setup choices and preferences (among other things).  By deleting them, you are forcing Pro Tools to start from scratch on those prefs (basically setting it back to Default).

On the Mac side, you can just download this program and call it a day - Pro Tools Preferences and Database Helper. 

There are similar programs out there, both on the Mac and Windows side of things, but that is my favorite.  Also, you can easily delete these files manually.

On Windows:

Delete the bolded folders, empty the recycle bin.

On Macs

And now you know how to trash your Pro Tools prefs and databases!

Connor

The Studio Files


Close
E-mail It